The Decade of the Dreamer

Posted: December 31, 2011 in Leadership Development
Tags: , , ,

Well, decade is already underway. I admit, I’m a little slow on the uptake. I believe that the decade or even quite possibly the century of the Dreamer is upon us. I’m not talking about the dreams that you have at night… that is a topic for another blog. I’m talking about the ideas that keep you up at night, the imaginations that you hesitate to speak for fear that they will be met with too much criticism and aborted without your consent. Just in case you’re like me, wondering what to do with the passions and vision within, wondering if it’s okay to even have the dangerous thoughts you do, I wanted to let you know that you are not alone. That you were made for a time such as this.

After reading Seth Goodin’s very dangerous and inspiring book “Tribes” I am more aware than ever that the rule book we used to play by has already become obsolete, yet some of us our still playing by its rules. I am seeing themes of dreaming everywhere from secular movies to Christian ministries and books that are popping up all over. Call it passion, call it purpose, call it life coaching, call it a calling. It’s the same thing. People everywhere are waking up to the reality that their dreams are not as far out of reach as they once thought. They are looking at the success of their otherwise everyday neighbors and saying, why not me? Why not now?

Some people are taking permission seriously. Some people (well meaning or not) are taking the opportunity to lead people into fear and dread, even deception. Some people are giving others hope and fresh perspective. Others simply come bearing novelty and delight. I want to use this post as a recognition of my influence, however tiny it may be, to give permission to those of us whose dreams are truly to serve a purpose that is good, that is beyond ourselves, that reaches into the realm of the Divine. The sooner we can come out of hiding and start living free of the grip of fear, the sooner we can get on with the stuff that is really going to effect change in our world.

That stuff exists in the seed of a dream. That thing can only come to life by faith. That one small thing can turn into many things or one huge thing, which can (and should) overlap into the dreams of others. This is a season in which dreams are becoming ripe and falling out of our mouths, even if almost by accident. This is a season in which old dreams will be revitalized and dusted off, reinvented for a new day. 2012, I don’t want to waste your gift of time churning out a dull year of existence, playing by antiquated rules. I’d rather cope with the exciting uncertainty of change and true progress. I’d rather really focus on something and get it done. I’d rather expand my imagination to include possibilities yet uncharted. How about you?

Comments
  1. Karrie says:

    May 2012 be the year for the dreamers! Great post, Leigh. The dreams I have at night ARE my real dreams. You write about dreams as a topic, but I’d be curious to know what your own personal dream is?

  2. Karrie says:

    You know where to find me. I would love to hear them.

  3. Jere Kisto says:

    Very interesting subject, appreciate it for posting.

Leave a Reply

